Zoom recently shared a quick overview of their latest release and highlighted new enhancements created specifically for ensuring security and privacy.
For more information on these changes, please reference their Release Notes.
Security Toolbar Icon for Hosts
The meeting host will now have a Security option in their meeting controls, which exposes all of Zoom’s existing in-meeting security controls in one place. This includes locking the meeting, enabling Waiting Room, and more. Users can also now enable Waiting Room in a meeting, even if the feature was not turned on before the start of the meeting. For more information, please visit this recently published Blog.
Invite Button on Meeting Client Toolbar
The button to invite others to join your Zoom meeting is now available at the bottom of the Participants panel.
Meeting ID No Longer Displayed
The meeting ID will no longer be displayed in the title bar of the Zoom meeting window. The meeting ID can be found by clicking on Participants, then Invite or by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window.
Remove Attendee Attention Tracking Feature
Zoom has removed the attendee attention tracker feature as part of their commitment to the security and privacy of customers. For more background on this change and how we are pivoting during these unprecedented times, please see a note from our CEO, Eric S. Yuan.
Removal of the Facebook SDK in Zoom’s iOS client
Zoom has reconfigured the feature so that users will still be able to log in with Facebook via their browser.
The option to do third-party file transfers in Meeting and Chat was temporarily disabled. Local file transfer is available with Zoom’s latest release. Third-party file transfers and clickable URLs in meeting chat will be added back in an upcoming release.
New Join Flow for the Web client
By default, users will now need to sign in to their Zoom account or create a Zoom account when joining a meeting or webinar with the Web client. This can be disabled by the Admin or the User from their settings page.
Join Before Host Emails Disabled
Notifications sent to the host via email when participants are waiting for the host to join the meeting have been disabled.
Setting to Allow Participants to Rename Themselves
Account admins and hosts can now disable the ability for participants to rename themselves in any meeting. This setting is available at the account, group, and user level in the Web portal.
Language for Directory and Company Directory
Domain contacts: The language in your Company directory and Directory has changed. ‘Directory’ is now referred to as ‘Contacts’, ‘My Groups’ has changed to ‘My Contacts’, and ‘Company Directory’ is now listed as ‘All Contacts’ in version 4.6.10.
Domain Contacts Visibility
For free Basic and single licensed Pro accounts with unmanaged domains, contacts in the same domain will no longer be visible. Zoom has also removed the option to auto-populate your Contacts list with users from the same domain. If you would like to keep those contacts, you can add them as External Contacts.
Photo Credit: Pixabay on Pexels.com